Dean

Dr. Linda Luehrs Wolfe

Dr. Linda Luehrs WolfeLinda Luehrs Wolfe serves as the Dean of Sciences & Health Occupation (SHO) at Lone Star College-Kingwood. For more than 30 years, Luehrs Wolfe has held various teaching and administrative positions in higher education. She participated in the Chair Academy, part of the Maricopa Community College and El Paso Community College. She holds a doctoral degree in Educational Management and Development from New Mexico State University, a Master's degree in Education from the University of Texas at El Paso, and a Bachelor's degree from Doane College in Crete, Nebraska. She has a daughter who is currently attending college.

Email: Linda.R.LuehrsWolfe@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1575
Office: HSB 102-C

Department Chair

William Michael Clark, M.D.

William Michael Clark, M.D.William Michael Clark, M.D., biology and healthcare professor, has taught at Lone Star College-Kingwood for 21 years. During his tenure, he has earned the Faculty Excellence Award. He is currently the Biological Sciences department chair; a steering committee member of the Leadership Academy and a member of the Scholarship Committee.

"My training in biology and medicine enables me to teach anatomy and physiology courses and the pathophysiology course. I also lecture in the clinical departments," he said. "I have had a very enjoyable and successful career at LSC-Kingwood."

Clark earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Baylor University, a Master of Science degree from Stephen F. Austin State University and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Houston. He earned his M.D. from the University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio and completed his residency at Tulane University.

Email: Mike.Clark@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1423
Office: HSB 202-W
Web Site

Faculty

Roland DeSoignie

Roland DeSoignie, professor of biology, joined LSC-Kingwood in 2005. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Biology from the University of Kansas. Additionally, he obtained a Master of Arts degree in Physiology from the same institution.

He worked for more than 22 years at the University of Texas Medical School in Houston as a biomedical researcher in the departments of Gastroenterology and later the department of Surgery. DeSoignie is the author or co-author of approximately 50 articles and abstracts in peer reviewed scientific journals.

Topics of research ranged from the regulation of absorption in the small intestine to factors involved in the onset of multiple organ failure in shock trauma patients.

DeSoignie teaches human anatomy and physiology. He has taught as an adjunct in several area colleges.

Email: Roland.C.Desoignie@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1726
Office: HSB 202-U
Web Site


Dr. Caleb Makukutu

Dr. Caleb MakukutuCaleb Makukutu, Ph.D., professor of biology, joined LSC-Kingwood in 1991. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Food Technology from London South Band (formerly South Bank Polytechnic). He also attended North East Surrey College of Technology, an affiliate college of Surrey University where he earned a postgraduate diploma in Science. While at this institution, he studies microbiology and biochemistry. Makukutu continued his studies in the United States and attended Iowa State University. At this institution, he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Science. He also attended the University of Texas Health Science Center, where he obtained a Master of Public Health degree. He also earned a Doctorate of Public Health in Disease Control. His focus was on infectious disease; a focus he continues to maintain.

Makukutu also earned a post doctorate fellowship in disease control at the University of Texas School of Public Health. He continued his studies, and obtained a Master of Business Administration from Our Lady of the Lake University. He has worked as a research and development scientist at Unilever in London. Makukutu developed odoriferous compounds used in the manufacture of perfumes, soaps and lotions. Additionally, he worked at the Iowa State Soil Laboratory, where he provided soil analyses and recommendations for the growth of different crops in the fields. He is the author of several articles in microbiology.

Email: Caleb.A.Makukutu@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1429
Office: HSB 202-T
Web Site


Betsy Morgan

Betsy MorganElizabeth Morgan, biology professor, worked for eight years as an adjunct instructor. She has taught full time for 10 years. During her time at LSC-Kingwood, she earned both the Adjunct Faculty Excellence Award and the Faculty Excellence Award.

"I LOVE biology and I enjoy helping others realize how relevant it is to every aspect of their lives," she said. "With biology, there is always something new being discovered which naturally lends itself to lifelong learning."

Morgan earned a Bachelor of Science degree and a Master of Education degree in Curriculum and Instruction from Texas A&M University.

"I love working at LSC-Kingwood! This campus is extremely friendly and welcoming. The collegial atmosphere fosters creativity and good teaching."

Professor, Biology
Email: Betsy.Morgan@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1682
Office: HSB 202-S
Web Site


Dian Petty

Dian PettyDian Petty, professor of biology, earned undergraduate and graduate degrees in botany and horticulture from the University of Texas and Texas A&M. She continued her studies at Welder Wildlife Refuge, Chihuahuan Desert Research Institute and the Organization for Tropical Studies La Selva and Palo Verde Biological Stations in Costa Rica.

Petty enjoyed her time at Texas A&M's Agricultural Experiment Station in El Paso and continues to be actively involved in Texas Mycological Society and volunteers for the Urban Harvest gardening programs. Currently Professor Petty is the primary online instructor in the department. She instructs all the general biology courses in an online format.

Email: Dian.Petty@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1655
Office: HSB 202-K
Web Site


Brian Róbert Shmaefsky, Ed.D

Brian Róbert Shmaefsky, Ph.D., Ed.DBrian Róbert Shmaefsky, Ed.D, biology professor and service learning coordinator, has taught at Lone Star College-Kingwood since 1992. During his career, he has presented a myriad of papers, earned numerous professional awards and has countless affiliations.

"I started out doing laboratory biology and then an industrial biochemist before becoming a university professor. I then wanted to do more teaching as part of my career so I came to this community college to make biology interesting and relevant to students," he said.

Currently, Shmaefsky is the chair of the Lone Star College System Institutional Review Board; a member of the Faculty International Exploration Review Committee and is the advisor for the Students for Animal Awareness and Wildlife club.

"I have had many responsibilities during my time at LSC-Kingwood, going from being director of the Biotechnology Program to developing new teaching strategies for general biology and forming the college's Service Learning Program," he said.

Shmaefsky earned a Bachelor of Science degree in biology from Brooklyn College of CUNY; a Master of Science degree in environmental physiology from Southern Illinois University; and a Ed.D in science training and education from Southern Illinois University. He has completed studies at Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory.

Email: Brian.R.Shmaefsky@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1609
Office: HSB 202-V
Web Site


Heather Scherr

Heather ScherrHeather Scherr, assistant professor of biology, was hired as an adjunct professor in fall 2010 and has taught full time since fall 2012. She earned the Campus Technology Advisory Council Grant in 2013.

"I find biology fascinating, love learning about it, and enjoy sharing my knowledge and enthusiasm with others. Since biology pervades the daily human experience at all levels, I want students to better understand, respect, and be excited by the world around them," she said. "Ultimately, this will allow my students to critically evaluate scientific claims and make educated decisions regarding their health choices, treatment of the environment, and public policy choices."

Scherr earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Cell and Molecular Biology and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Plan II Honors from the University of Texas at Austin. She earned a Master of Science degree in Biology from Gerstner Sloan-Kettering Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

"LSC-Kingwood is a supportive environment for faculty and students. The college is progressive and proactive on the whole, working to improve our approach to education and successfully guide and prepare our students for the next steps in their lives."

Email: Heather.M.Scherr@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.318.4387
Office: HSB 202-C

Adjunct Faculty

Evelyn Ajelabi

Email: Evelyn.Ajelabi@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology

Yolanda Camarata

Email: Yolanda.M.Camarata@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Rose Chute

Email: Rose.M.Chute@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Dr. Jose Cortes

Email: Dr. Jose Cortes
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Andrew Evans

Email: Andrew.C.Evans@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Dr. Carlton Hazlewood

Email: Carlton.F.Hazlewood@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Eugene Onyike

Email: Eugene.O.Onyike@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Lenore Cariaga

Email: Lenore.Cariaga@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology

Carla Wyatt

Email: Carla.L.Wyatt@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Robert Devor

Email: Robert.P.Devor@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Dan Lawlor

Email: Daniel.Lawlor@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology

Dr. Donald Parker

Email: Donald.Parker@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology

Amber Heron

Email: Amber.M.Heron@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Tammara Jordan

Email: Tammara.R.Jordan@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

L'tanya Patton

Email: Ltanya.A.Patton@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology

Hal Turner

Email: Hal.R.Turner@lonestar.edu
Adjunct Professor, Biology
Web Site

Staff

Kristi Hunger

Division Coordinator
Email: Kristi.Hunger@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1486
Office: CLA 118-A

Leslie Thompson

Division Operations Manager
Email: Leslie.R.Thompson@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1538
Office: HSB 102-A

Dr. Suann Hereford

Academic Advisor
Email: Suann.Hereford@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1410
Office: HSB118-L

Jan Benjamin

Program Coordinator, Science Labs
Email: Jan.Benjamin@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1472
Office: HSB 201

Debra Vaughn

Chemistry Lab Coordinator
Email: Debra.L.Vaughn@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1472
Office: HSB 201

Lara Hicks

Staff Assistant II
Email: Lara.B.Zuckerman@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1634
Office: HSB 202

preload menu background image