Law Enforcement Academy
The Lone Star College System Law Enforcement Academy offers a program that meets the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE) requirements for a Peace Officer certification. These courses are Peace Officer I, Peace Officer II, Peace Officer III, and Peace Officer IV. After successful completion of these courses, a person is eligible to take the state licensing examination to be a Peace Officer. This test is given at the academy location.
****THERE ARE NO ONLINE REGISTRATIONS FOR THE ACADEMY****
Admission Requirements to the Law Enforcement Academy:
- Turn in completed application packet;
- Has never been convicted of, nor currently on court-ordered community service supervision or probation for any criminal offense above the grade of Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years regardless of disposition status;
- Is not currently under indictment for any criminal offense;
- Has never been arrested for or convicted at any time of a felony;
- Has never been convicted of any family violence offense regardless of level of offense;
- Not be prohibited by state or federal law from operating a motor vehicle;
- Not be prohibited by state or federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition;
- Be either a high school graduate, or have GED certificate;
- Be twenty-one years of age before being licensed as a Texas Peace Officer
- Be of good moral character;
- Not have been discharged from any military service under less than honorable conditions
- Not have had a commission license denied by a final order or revoked, or have voluntary surrender of license currently in effect;
- Be a United States citizen and provide an original birth certificate or naturalization paperwork from the Department of Immigration and Customs Enforcement;
- If you are under 30 years old you will need to bring proof of meningitis vaccination;
- Per TCLEOSE rules deferred adjudication is considered a conviction.
In addition to these requirements, a person must successfully complete a 660 hour Basic Peace Officer certification course and successfully pass a state licensing examination to be eligible to be licensed as a peace officer in this state. (The number of hours required are subject to change at the discretion of the Commission.)
- Download and fill out The Texas Department of Public Safety and FAST fingerprinting (L1) Services Forms (.doc) for a TXI Review.
- Contact FAST at 1-888-467-2080 to make an appointment at your closest geographic location.
- In the Recipient data section, fill in the college.
Lone Star College - Law Enforcement Academy
20515 State Highway 249
Houston, Texas 77070
- Bring your completed application packet to the Law Enforcement Academy
- Make sure you bring the following with you:
a. Valid Texas Drivers License
b. Copy of your high school diploma or GED certificate
c. Official college transcripts
d. DD-214 if you were in the military
e. Certified copy of birth certificate
f. Concealed handgun license if you have one
g. Current color picture of yourself
h. Written essay explaining why you want to work in the law enforcement field. This should be 1 or 2 pages in length.
After being accepted to the academy you will be notified and then you can complete your L-2 and L-3 forms.
Effective September 1, 1995, any person who is disqualified by law to be an officer or jailer may not enroll in law enforcement training programs. Any person who fails to meet even a single criteria listed below may not enroll in the Law Enforcement Academy. Any person who does enroll in the Law Enforcement Academy and is later found to be in violation of these requirements set forth below or in violation of any other requirements for admission as prescribed by the Texas Commission of Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education will be subject to dismissal from the Law Enforcement Academy and will forfeit all tuition and or fees already paid.
Procedures for Fingerprint Criminal History ChecksAll local Police Departments and Sheriff Departments are supplied with approved fingerprint cards. Fingerprints must be taken (“rolled”) by a law enforcement agency. Most agencies will provide this service and may charge a fee of up to $10.
Where is the Academy?
20515 SH 249 Building 12 Suite 117
Houston, Texas 77070