Dean

James Stubbs

James StubbsJames Stubbs is Dean of Fire Science, Letters, Arts & Kinesiology (FLAK) at Lonestar College - Kingwood. Prior to becoming Dean, he also served as band director and professor of music and directed the Kingwood Big Band, Lone Star College - Kingwood Jazz Ensemble, and the Kingwood Community Symphonic Band.

Prior to his arrival at Lone Star College - Kingwood in 2004, Mr. Stubbs was the director of bands at Navarro College in Corsicana, Texas for fourteen years where he directed the marching band, athletic bands, jazz ensembles, theater orchestras, wind ensembles, and community bands. His teaching duties have included courses in music theory, music appreciation, American music, jazz improvisation, and applied brass.

Prior to his career in higher education, Mr. Stubbs served as a high school band director and applied trumpet educator in high schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas. He is a native of Pine Bluff, Arkansas and is a graduate of Louisiana Tech University, the University of North Texas, and is a doctoral candidate at Baylor University.

Email: James.D.Stubbs@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1501
Office: PAC 117-A
Web Site

Department Chair

Jay Whatley

Jay WhatleyJay Whatley is Associate Professor of Music and at Lone Star College - Kingwood, where he coordinates the applied keyboard, class piano & theory programs. He holds both the BM & MM in Piano Performance & Pedagogy, and completed coursework for the DMA in Piano Performance & Pedagogy with Betty Mallard, Marth Hilley & Sophia Gilmson, and in Organ Performance with Frank Speller, at the University of Texas at Austin. Additional study and master classes have been with Jane Abbott-Kirk and William Doppmann (piano) and Lenora McCroskey, Jesse Eschbach, and William Mathias (organ).

In high demand as a collaborative artist, chamber musician, & continuo player, Whatley maintains an active & varied career at the state, regional & national levels. He has performed with such notable choral conductors as Robert Sund, Maria Guinand, Craig Jessop, Charles Bruffy, and Sigrid Johnson. He was recently selected to accompany the 2009 Texas Music Educators Association All-State Men's Choir under the direction of Larry Kaptein, and also a large festival choir under the direction of Andre Thomas in February 2009. He collaborated with Allen Hightower and the SHSU Chorale in performance at TMEA (San Antonio) and ACDA (Miami), as well as on the Chorale's tour of Italy. Solo organ recitals include Salzburg's Dome Cathedral and Bath Abbey; he was guest soloist in a performance of Poulenc's Organ Concerto at St. John's Smith Square, London. Along with Dr. Todd Miller, tenor, Marion Russell Dickson, soprano, and Dr. Shannon Hesse, pianist, he will present a program of new American art song in Weill Recital Hall of Carnegie Hall in March 2009.

Whatley is a successful vocal coach and répétiteur, with students repeatedly winning Regional Auditions of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, and also the coveted Grady Harlan Award from the Texoma Region of NATS. His reputation, especially as an interpreter of recitative, has led him to coach both studio artists and principal leads at Houston Grand Opera, and the occasional visiting Metropolitan Opera soprano.

In addition to his busy career as a performer and teacher, Whatley also serves as organist of Cypress Creek Christian Church, home of The Centrum and The Forum concert halls. Under the direction of Clara Lewis, Minister of Music, the Cypress Creek Community Chorale has performed concerts in Bavaria & Salzburg, and London & Bath. The church has embarked on fundraising to culminate in a large concert organ by renowned builder Manuel Rosales.

As an active member of Music Teachers National Association, Texas Music Teachers Association, and Cyress Creek Music Teachers Association, Whatley is in his first year of a three-year appointment as Piano Competitions Chair for TMTA. He is a frequent adjudicator, most recently for the World Piano Pedagogy Conference in Atlanta, with another invitation to adjudicate at the 2008 World Conference in Dallas.

Jay is a familiar face at professional conferences and conventions. He has presented conference sessions for the TMEA and TMTA, as well as performances at TMEA, TMTA, MTNA, and ACDA. He recently accepted an invitation to join the Oxford Round Table, held at Oxford University, where he will present a paper in July 2009. He is an active member of TMEA, TMTA, American Guild of Organists, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, and Mensa, among others.

Email: Jay.K.Whatley@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1746
Office: MUS 106
Web Site

Faculty

Dr. Todd Miller

Dr. Todd MillerTodd R. Miller, professor of music and chair of the visual and performing arts, joined LSC-Kingwood in 1994. Miller earned a Bachelor of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Louisville. He also obtained a Master of Music degree in voice performance from the University of Arizona. In addition, he holds a doctoral degree in voice performance and conducting from the University of Houston.

Miller has presented a number of papers. He presented, "Carlisle Floyd and Susannah" at the University of Southern Mississippi in 2005. He has also performed with the Houston Symphony, the Houston Choral Society, Houston Chamber Choir, Greenbriar Consortium, the San Antonio Symphony, and Opera, Des Moines Metro Opera, Opera in the Heights, and three Carnegie Hall performances.

In 2003, he was honored with the LSC-Kingwood Faculty Excellence Award. Miller has also been nominated twice for the Piper Professor Award.

"I have a passion for music and its importance in human society and I have a passion for students who want to make music their life's vocation," Miller explained. "Kingwood has been very supportive of my dreams as an educator and as a performer, and the students have benefitted from that support."

Email: Todd.R.Miller@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1485
Office: MUS 115
Web Site


Alfredo Velez

Alfredo VelezAlfredo Velez, associate professor of music and director of bands joined LSC-Kingwood in 2010. Velez earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Angelo State University and a Master of Music Education degree from the same institution.

Velez is president of the Texas Bandmasters Association.

"I love music and enjoy working with both students and colleagues," Velez stated.

Email: Alfredo.Velez@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.318.4335
Office: MUS 114
Web Site

Adjunct Faculty

Amy Wiggs

Email: Amy.S.Wiggs@lonestar.edu
Flute

Barbara Butler

Email: Barbara.A.Butler@lonestar.edu
Piano

David Sloat

Email: David.J.Sloat@lonestar.edu
Voice

Anne Heath-Welch

Email: Anne.Heath-Welch@lonestar.edu
Voice, Diction, Opera Workshop

Gottfried Schiller

Email: Edwin.G.Schiller@lonestar.edu
Voice, Opera Workshop

James Roberson

Email: James.E.Roberson@lonestar.edu
Bassoon

Marvin Sparks

Email: Marvin.Sparks@lonestar.edu
Percussion, Music Appreciation

Rosendo Reyna

Email: Rosendo.Reyna@lonestar.edu
Guitar, Music Theory

Trung Trinh

Email: Trung.L.Trinh@lonestar.edu
Violin, Viola

Eric Fisher

Email: Eric.D.Fisher@lonestar.edu
Music Fundamentals

Jackson Hearn

Email: Paul.J.Hearn@lonestar.edu
Class Piano, Music Appreciation

Keith Almstedt

Email: Keith.M.Almstedt@lonestar.edu
Guitar

Patrick Brink

Email: Patrick.L.Brink@lonestar.edu
Electronic Music, Trumpet, Horn

Matthew Dickson

Email: Matthew.E.Dickson@lonestar.edu
Low Brass

Gary Liebst

Email: Gary.L.Liebst@lonestar.edu
Kingwood Pops Conductor

Aaron Martinez

Email: Aaron.P.Martinez@lonestar.edu
Saxophone, Clarinet

Steven Martin

Email: Stephen.Martin@lonestar.edu
Bass, Cello

 

Staff

Mitzi Payne

Division Coordinator
Email: Mitzi.Payne@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1501
Office: PAC 117

Tracheal Freeman

Division Operations Manager
Email: Tracheal.M.Freeman@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1620
Office: PAC 118-A

Desi Hunt

Staff Assistant II
Email: Desi.L.Hunt@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1466
Office: CLB 102

Angie Spargur

Staff Assistant II
Email: Mary.A.Spargur@lonestar.edu
Phone: 281.312.1709
Office: MUS 113

Melissa Stoltz

Staff Assistant II, Music
Email: Melissa.L.Stoltz@lonestar.edu
Office: MUS 113

 
preload menu background image