Mission Statement

Assist students in achieving academic success, through persistence and retention, by promoting understanding of course concepts, reinforcing essential study skills and habits, and encouraging independent learning to help them reach their educational goals to succeed in a rapidly changing world.

Philosophy of Serving Students

Students are the central focus of our services that are based on theories and knowledge of learning and human development, reflective of developmental and demographic profiles of the student population and responsive to the special needs of individuals. Through understanding and guidance, the Learning Center strives to aid students to become adept at learning, to understand the learning expectations of faculty and to foster personal responsibility and accountability for learning. While the Learning Center supports the academic standards and requirements of the institution, the staff also helps students develop a positive attitude towards learning and confidence in their ability to learn.

Philosophy of Serving Faculty

The Learning Center strives to provide services and resources to faculty that enhance and support classroom instruction and support the academic standards and requirements of LSC-Montgomery.

Meet Our Staff

The Division of Instructional Support Services is made up of the Learning Centerand the Testing Center.
Learning Center Office Phone

Deirdre Hayes-Cootz
Director
deirdre.r.hayes-cootz@lonestar.edu

F-161 936.273.7303

Mozhgan Pourasadollah
Specialist IV
mozhgan.pourasadollah@lonestar.edu

F-160A 936.273.7361
Aretha Jenkins
Coordinator II
aretha.r.jenkins@lonestar.edu
F-160B 936.273.7414
Pam Zeberg
Staff Assistant I
pam.s.zeberg@lonestar.edu
F 936.273.7367
Barthaolomew Kovacs
Coordinator II
bartholomew.j.kovacs@lonestar.edu
F-160C 936.271.6324
Testing Services Office Phone
Shari Hurl Tracey
Coordinator
shari.h.tracey@lonestar.edu
C-200 936.273.7425
Barbara Holman
Specialist II
barbara.s.holman@lonestar.edu
C-200 936.271.6125
preload menu background image